Writing Prompt Wednesday: Missed Mark

Standard

So this is week 4 of Writing Prompt Wednesday! I can honestly say that I’m having a blast I hope you all are too!!! This time around, we’re going to see Simon from the High Council series. He is off on his own with a new character. With as much as my mind wanders, we’re going to be jumping around with all of my characters and the potential universes in my head.

Thanks for sticking with me!

Now, on with the show!

This week’s sentence: “I’ve got no reception in the club.”

*****(c) Dawn Ibanez 2017 All right reserved*****

“I’ve got no reception in the club.” Simon cursed as he pulled the slim device from his ear. It was his first mission with this new team and multiple things seemed to go wrong for them. He looked at the monitoring equipment they had been given. “Part of me thinks the Council wants us to fail,” he mumbled.

His current field leader shook his head. “There’s no benefit to our failure.” Leon Sheppard leaned back in his folding chair and balanced himself on the two back legs. “This is a new team, and while there are a few rookies here, I really doubt the Pendragon would let you die. And that says nothing about the elf.”

Simon frowned as he turned to his laptop. “Chance is only so powerful,” he said pulling up his email account. “The rest is none of your business.”

Leon folded his arms behind his head. “It is when it clouds your judgement.” He allowed his chair to drop and leaned forward. “You were made the team lead. You’re our voice when shit goes down with the Council, or any other officials that may come after us. I’m supposed to make sure we can all walk out of that club tomorrow with as little damage as possible. So, if you’re so screwed up in your own shit that you don’t even realize these were not the earpieces McAllister send us, then whatever is fucking with your brain is my business.”

Brown eyes looked at the slim devices before seeing the box next to his foot. There was a note attached with Moira’s flowing handwriting. “She sent in new ones?”

Leon grabbed the note and stood. “Simon. Don’t try to use the crap those idiots at hq tried to give you. The range on them sucks and you won’t be able to hear anything. Take these. They’re easier to sync and we won’t have to worry about you. Love Moria,” he read. Leon dropped the note into Simon’s lap before pacing the room. “Now, tell me that bullshit bit again. About them not caring.”

Simon swallowed as he read the note for himself. Moria was the best tech the Council had. There were plenty of times her gadgets saved their lives. She would have sent him the best equipment if she had the means. And Chance would always make sure she had the means. Their team had been more like a family. He swallowed as he reached into the box and pulled out five small com-units. He also found another note. It was a simple card that made him smile. “Stay safe. If I have to come after you, you’ll be sorry,” he said with a sigh. He then looked at Leon. “Things between Aria and I are complicated. At best.”

Leon nodded as he went to the window and looked out onto the street. “I figured that part out when Emrys let you come here.” He then glanced at Simon. “But none of that explains why you ran from the States.”

Simon tested one of the com-units to stall replying to Leon’s statement. It pained him to know that the woman he loved was beyond his reach. Merlin, no, Emrys now, said that he would grow to be good friends with Braeden. But he didn’t count on it. Not when both Braeden and Aria were thousands of years old, and he was simply a human. “I love her. She’s mated. I don’t want to be around watching what I can’t have,” he said putting everything back in its box. “Aria is someone I will always count as a friend. But I can’t sit by and watch her be happy with Braeden.” Simon then stood and stretched his arm. “And if you tell anyone about this conversation, I’ll gut you.”

Leon smirked as he crossed his arms. “What conversation?”

********************************

This one is short, I’ll admit that. But hey, they call can’t be long. Let me know what you think!

Dawn

Leave a Reply

