Up for Air.

Hi Everyone! I’m pretty sure I’ll have a Thanksgiving Day post. I might not. There’s no telling what news I’ll have in two days time.

I’m dropping a line to make another confession. Maybe it’ll give some one with the same struggles insight. Who knows.

I first published Dragon’s Awakening back in 08. So I’ve been a published author for 6 years. Between Dragon’s Awakening and Tangled Temptations, I had a decent job. My home life came down to a routine. I was able to write, be a mom, and get everything I needed to get done in a day.

Then, in 2010 I lost my job.

I tried to hold as many pieces of normalcy as I could, but slowly everything started to fall apart. I remained unemployed for 4 years (not by choice) and while I was trying to get my work out, it was still hard because I could barely afford to put food on the table, never mind paying someone $600+ for them to edit my books.

By the end of 2011 I lost whatever good focus I had. My game plan was to be home, focus on my writing, and watch my name take off. It didn’t happen. I barely sold anything. The only times I saw any numbers was when I would post a book for free. I thought that the more I wrote, the more I would sell, it would be like a trickle down effect.

That didn’t happen.

I tried to join in on Twitter conversations and the like to see if I could sell more. That didn’t work either.

Then home life started to take hold. I rent out my mother’s basement, so when she needed a sitter for her foster children, I became it. My life revolved around changing diapers, Disney Jr. and making sure the Kidlets had the best they could hope for.

The more I tried to write, the more I stared at a blank page. The more I tried to force something, the more I hated it.

I was at a point where I was about to completely give up on my writing.

Over the summer I was able to find a part-time job.

I thought my slump was over. The foster kids were reunited with their family. I had a steady flow of income, the world was finally back on its axis!

Or so I thought.

After spending so long unemployed, the transition back to work is hard. Trying to get back into the swing of everything isn’t as easy as I thought it was. I thought I could wake up in the morning get my daughter to school, get a few extra minutes of sleep, head to work and then when I get home get to writing.

Yeah. That’s not working.

My daughter has martial arts classes, then I have to check her homework and cook. I have no clue how I did this before!

And I didn’t even mention the hell I put myself through stressing out to make 2 Halloween costumes.

But I’m not complaining. I’m thrilled for my job. I adore my daughter. While I may only be able to squeeze out a few minutes here and there, I decided to take the next few days and do something I haven’t done in a really long time.

I’m going to breathe.

If I write, great. If I don’t, that’s okay too. My daughter is going to be more into what’s on her plate and her iPhone to really pay any attention to what I’m doing. And so I’ll probably read and be thankful for the little wonders that seem to keep me content.

Anyways… this post has taken a turn. And I’m going to end it here. Feel free to drop me a line if you want. And if I don’t talk to you again this week, have a Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Dawn

About Dawn Ibanez

I'm a self-published author, and I want to get out there so others can see my work...
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

